"Let me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in the attempt."
Special Olympics Oath.
Tim Stafford "Unsung Hero" Award

The Tim Stafford Memorial Award was created to recognize outstanding individuals who have contributed to the success of the Law Enforcement Torch Run on a state, local or community level. The Tim Stafford "Unsung Hero" should be someone who contributes to the Torch Run in spirit, dedication and enthusiasm in an effective and unheralded fashion. The award was also created to honor the memory of Trooper Tim Stafford, Oklahoma Highway Patrol and his many contributions to Law Enforcement Torch Run and Special Olympics Oklahoma.

Unsung Heroes:

Capt. Stewart Meyer
Oklahoma Highway Patrol (Ret.)

Capt. Phil Carr
Oklahoma City Police Department (Ret.)

2005 Milt Gilliam
Department of Corrections

2006 Mark Wollmershauser
Tulsa Police Department

2007 Jill McPherson

2008 Don Hull, Inspector
Oklahoma City Police Department

2009 Brett House
Oklahoma City Police Department

2010 Steve Burrows
Oklahoma Highway Patrol
Donate Now

Created by the Joseph P. Kennedy, Jr. Foundation. Authorized and Accredited by Special Olympics, Inc., for the Benefit of Persons with Intellectual Disabilities.  2009 Special Olympics Oklahoma    Contact:  918-481-1234
Questions or Suggestions: email
[Home] [Fund Raising] [Donate Now] [Volunteer] [Become An Athlete] [Families] [About Special Olympics Oklahoma] [Contact Us] [Find Area Programs] [Calendar] [Press Room] [Coaches Information] [Athletes Only] [Law Enforcement Torch Run]
Tim Stafford Unsung Hero Award
Trooper Steve Burrows
Trooper Steve Burrows with Chief Van Guillotte, Oklahoma Highway Patrol. Trooper Burrows was presented with the award at the 2010 Law Enforcement Torch Run Kick-Off Luncheon, February 18, 2010 in Oklahoma City.